Take Stock in Children of Alachua County’s Contract Signing

To be brought into a world where suffering is normal, pain is usual, and tears are common is a world that I was brought into 21 years ago.  A predicament many think is unheard of but is right in front of our faces, in schools, on TV, and even across this country. My mother had me the day after her fourteenth birthday to say the least she was no where near ready to have a child, even though it almost killed her to let my aunt, my dads sister, have me, she knows now it was the best thing for me. The environment was better, but I was still living in a household where the income was a lot less than average. Back then as a child it wasn’t noticeable because I didn’t understand the circumstances and because my aunt did the best she could to hide them by providing me with what I needed. As I got older, I began to realize what the real world had to offer, bad and good, I decided I wanted better for my family and myself. The opportunity to do just that would present itself my seventh grade year. I can remember it like it was yesterday. The vice principal at my school, who would later become my mentor, called a group of us into her office and gave us envelopes she told us to MAKE SURE we took home to our parents. I didn’t even get the chance to get home and tell my aunt about the letter because my other aunt who worked at the school called her up and told her I had the chance  to receive a Take Sock in Children scholarship, which would pay for my college tuition for four years. I remember filling out that application three times before my aunts thought it was perfect. I didn’t understand why it had to be filled out more than once, but now I do. And even though I was frustrated after completing it; I can truly say it was the best thing I could have ever done.

My life did a 180 degrees turn in less than a 2 month time frame. I got three things: a mentor, a scholarship, and hope to be more than a product of my environment and a chance to escape poverty. The best part was my mentor. Although the money would help me through college without her I might not have gotten to college or better yet at the University of Florida. I always look forward to our one-hour meetings each week. It was great to have someone to talk to about school, family, and friends beside my aunt.  I never met anyone who cared about students getting a good education more than her. Anything school related she backed me 100%. She encouraged me to make good grades, challenge myself, and work hard so I could have a better tomorrow. She took me places my disabled aunt couldn’t; she was able to do this because she became my big through big brothers, big sisters.  She took me to architecture firms because at the time that’s what I wanted to be, to plays, and to explore college campuses.  We went to different TSIC events together, such as football games, career workshops, and volunteer opportunities.When senior year rolled around it was crunch time. Her and I worked on scholarships daily that we learned about through the guidance office at school and TSIC. We went to the University of Florida’s career day and explored different college options over the Internet. Even though she encouraged me to look at a university. I doubted I could get in so I decided I wouldn’t apply and as the deadline approached she asked me did I submit applications to couple of colleges, the University of Florida being one of them. I told her no because like I mentioned I doubted I would get in, and Also, I didn’t have the money to pay for the applications fees. Right then she wiped out her checkbook and wrote me two tickets to places that could offer me opportunities I had never dreamed of. I submitted the applications that week and waited for the results to come in. In February, they arrived I didn’t get into one, but I did get into the other. I was now apart of the Gator Nation because my mentor believed in me even though I didn’t believe in myself. I graduated from my high school in the top 10 % of my class with a 4.0 GPA she was beyond proud, and I was more than happy. Since High school we still keep in touch, and I’m still in contact with my student advocate and TSIC director. TSIC is so much apart of me and every opportunity there is to give back to the organization I try my best to help out because it has given me so much over the years. I hope one day I will get to be a mentor to someone and bring hope to his/her life like this scholarship and my mentor have done for me. Image

Leave a comment